The Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz has a total of 10 faculties. The
Faculty 09 |Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Geography and Geosciences belongs to one of the larger faculties of the university with about 3000 students and about 600 employees.

The faculty 09 includes the Department of Chemistry, the Institute of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences (IPBW), Institute of Geography and the Institute of Geosciences . In addition to the institutes the faculty 09 contains  the Dean's Office including the study offices, the examination office for doctoral degrees and various projects and programs, such as the you@nullneun project , a teaching lab for students, the Ada Lovelace Project (ALP),  the Ada Lovelace Talent Development or the Meet Female Scientists Project (MFS).